vinylspinning

I Can’t Play Secular Music…

Okay let me explain before you guitar snobs start making fun of me and posting jerk-ish comments. I can play secular music, but it takes me a long time to learn the song. See ever since I picked up a guitar I always been forced to learn Christian music. I’ll be honest I hated it. 11 year old Jeremy learning MercyMe songs. Nothing against MercyMe their just not my cup of tea. I still remember my first song I learned on acoustic. “I Can Only Imagine,” I still won’t listen to that song willingly. My joke to people when they ask how long I’ve been playing is this. “Well I started when I was 11. My mom wanted me to learn Christian music. However, my dad gave me Darkside of the Moon for Christmas and shown me the “darkside.” I usually get a kick out of this but it leaves people confused. I’m weird like that.

But anyways back to what I was saying about secular music. I have never been able to play it well. I love some secular music. Most of my favorite bands are secular bands. I’m not a fan of the bands or artist who swear a lot in every song however. But worship music and Christian music has always come easy to me when learning a part for the band or group. (except Your Grace is Enough [Chad & Grace know what I’m talking about]) Take tonight for example, I was listening to this indie band called Local Natives, their a cool band, cool sound everything. I was listening to their song Wide Eyes and was like I want to learn that. So I sat down and tried to learn it. Eventually I got frustrated and moved on to another song. My churches worship leader is on a Phil Wickham kick and wanted me to learn the lead to “All I Am.” I listened to the song twice maybe and had the lead down perfectly. After that I played through Hillsong United’s Aftermath album with little to no stopping.

I really don’t know what it is. I’ve explained it to a few people and none of them have been able to give me an explanation to me. I really think its a gift from God. I’ve really only played in worship band’s seriously since I picked up the guitar. Maybe a garage band here and there that didn’t go anywhere. But I’ve always been drawn to worship music and love the sound of it. But when it comes to worship music I live by this verse:

“Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe! Praise him with sounding cymbals; praise him with loud clashing cymbals! Let everything that has breath praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!” – Psalm 150:4-6

Hopefully this isn’t some rambling. I was just sitting at home playing guitar and thought about it, so I decided to blog it.

But anyways here’s what I’ve been listening to:

Kye Kye: Young Love

I saw these guys open up for John Mark McMillian in Birmingham a few months ago and they put on a great show. Check them out. Their remix album is really good as well. 

Image

John Mark McMillian: The Song Inside the Sounds of Breaking Down Rerelease 

This is the rerelease of his second album. Great stuff with two new songs on it, “Hold On & Dancing on the Doors.” BTW the guitar solo at the end of “Dancing on the Doors is ridiculous. James Freakin’ Duke ’nuff said on that subject. 

Image

Pretty much anything Ryan Adams

I’ve been on a Ryan Adams kick lately. 

Image

Jude Moses: Self Titled

These guys also played with JMM in Birmingham. Really good harmonies and story telling. Plus who cannot like a guy who comes out on stage with a big ‘ole longhorn belt buckle, trucker hat, sleeveless shirt and handlebar mustache? 

Image

Jonathan David & Melissa Helser: On the Shores

Stop reading this right now and go buy this album. This man writes some of the most beautiful music I have ever heard. He has this song called “Abba” that will give you goosebumps every time you listen to it. It’s been on repeat on my drives back to Florence from Madison this week. Beautiful, beautiful music.

Image

Well that’s about it for me. Oh I forgot to mention. My big news that I said that I had but wasn’t going to say yet until the paper work had been finalized. Well the paper work has been finalized and I am now the new video tech at my home church. I’m really looking forward to this opportunity and have been really been blessed by God with this job. This was a big prayer that was answered. The only downside is that I will be living out of a suitcase most of the week. But its a great resume builder and I’m doing something that I feel that I’m being called to do which is serve in the church through media.

but anyways have a great weekend

Jeremy

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I Can’t Play Secular Music…

  1. Yes I do know what your talking about with Your Grace Is Enough… But that’s ok.

    I think that your ‘dilemma’ is your purpose screaming out through your music. We all are created with one purpose- to glorify God. If you have been given talents and skills, then they are there for one purpose also- To Glorify God. I feel very similarly about secular music (except I don’t even listen to it… )
    But if we have a gift – why not give it completly to God!

    Proud of you bud!

Leave a Reply

