vinylspinning

It’s been a week or so….

It’s been a week or so since my last post. I told myself I was gonna at least update what I’ve been listening to for the past week but never got around to doing it. But for those of you who are interested, (I know you all are) this is what has been happening in my life. I moved back to Madison, I think I mentioned that in my last post. I started playing again at my church, Capshaw Baptist. And I’ve been getting fatter, but I can still fit into my skinny jeans so we’re good. (that kinda sounds like a double negative, fat kid skinny jeans)

But anyways, probably the most exciting thing that has happened to me lately is that I went on an Emmaus Walk. For those of you who have never heard of an Emmaus Walk this is what it is. It’s kinda hard to explain what it is because I don’t want to call it a retreat. Basically you spend 72 hours without a phone or watch. (This was very hard for me because I like having a schedule and knowing when and where) But anyways you sit through 15 talks given by different people whether that be lay people or pastors of various churches from North Alabama. You also partake in communion every day which I really enjoyed. There is also a lot of worship. That took some getting use to because I’m use to pretty contemporary worship and they were singing old hymns and songs that I hadn’t sang since I was a kid.  The weekend was overall great. There was a lot more stuff that went on but I’m going to leave that out because there very special moments and there meant to be special. They say try not to be secretive about it but do. (its hard to explain you just have to go and see what I’m talking about)

God spoke to me this weekend. I’ve been praying for brokenness for a long time and I finally broke this weekend. I’ve never been a crier but this weekend I defiantly had my share of tears. Tears of brokenness and tears of happiness. He showed me that I need to be more selfless and humble especially in my worship. I had become the guy trying to look cool playing guitar. Also, that I’m loved. Christ’s love was defiantly shown this weekend with everyone. People you don’t even know giving you a hug and telling you that they love you. I may never see them people again till heaven but it’s amazing feeling when a complete stranger tell you they love you and shows you Christ’s love.

There is one moment that I’m going to mention because it was my favorite part of the walk. I received 12 letters on the last day of the walk from various people that I didn’t know, my friends, my family, and some kids from the youth group that I lead worship at. This was another crier for me (haha) when I read letters from my parents, sister, grandfather, and friends. But the one that really brought me to tears was the letters I got from two of the youth guys. When a kid that in high school tells you that your his hero or role model it does something to you. I broke down and cried. That’s when I realized how selfish I had been and non-humbled for the blessing that God has given me. God shown me a lot through this weekend and I feel as if I’m rediscovering myself. I looking forward to my growing relationship with HIM and I have a thirst for the word and just digging deeper. I bought a few books while I was there, two John Piper books The Roots of Endurance and Future Grace. Also, I bought and Oswald Chambers book, My Utmost For His Highest. I started The Roots of Endurance and used My Utmost for His Highest tonight during my quiet time. So far I’m enjoying both.

One thing that that they told us during Emmaus was our Fourth Day. See Emmaus can be that camp experience that you get. That spiritual high that you get when you leave from having an awesome time at a camp or retreat and your looking to take on the world. Right now I’m still on that high and I just made it through my first Fourth day. But they say right now your flame is on fire because your still on the mountain but what about when you hit the valley. Those Fourth Day’s are going to be your hardest. Just trust in the Lord and you will get through anything. Don’t lose the faith, anything is possible with Christ.

I’m going to end this post with a verse that I read tonight that really stuck out to me. It’s from Hebrews,

“My Son, do not despise the chastening of the Lord, nor be discouraged when you are rebuked by Him.” -Hebrews 12:5

This verse stuck out to me tonight. I have been praying a lot about my future and what God wants from me. For those who don’t know what I want to do with my future, I’m looking to work in a church full time mixing FOH audio and editing video’s, sermons, and audio. I’ve been getting discouraged because every where I was researching was looking for experience and I have had very little. But I some news today that I’m not going to talk about just yet cause nothing is set in stone. But it’s defiantly been an answered prayer. I’m learning to be patient and let God work instead of trying to do everything in my timing.

But that is what has been going on in my life. I’ll post a tunes list as well so if you want some new tunes to check out. Also look up a good friend of mines blog. This guy is one of the most theological guys I know and has a heart for missions and church planting. He is about to move to Chicago at the end of this month to work with a church up there and do urban mission work. His name is Jacob Fowler. Here is the link to his blog:http://sjacobfowler.wordpress.com/

Decolores!

-Jeremy

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

